Kansai Region

The Kansai region is a cultural center and the historical heart of Japan. The region includes the prefectures of Nara, Wakayama, Kyoto, Osaka, Hyōgo and Shiga. Kansai's unique position in Japanese history, plus the lack of damage from wars or natural disasters, has resulted in Kansai region having more UNESCO World Heritage Listings than any other region of Japan.

Cities, Towns, and Villages

Kyoto City

Kyoto Prefecture

  • See Properties
  • Hikone City

    Shiga Prefecture

  • Under Preparation
  • Hino Town

    Shiga Prefecture

  • Under Preparation

  • Looking for properties in other regions?

    We are in the process of building new relationships with local real estate agents, and we hope to list more traditional houses in different regions of Japan. If you have a particular region that you are interested in, kindly fill out the contact form below so we can notify you whenever a new property becomes available in the targeted region.

    Why KORYOYA houses?

    The traditional Japanese houses listed on KORYOYA for sale are all built before 1950 with the traditional construction method which is the result of more than a thousand years of past carpenters passing down their efforts and wisdoms.

    As no new houses can be built with the traditional construction method under current law, the high craftsmanship is in danger of becoming a dying art.

    Flow & Services

    The purchasing flow and the types of services you may need depends on factors such as where you live, your ability to communicate in Japanese, and your intended use of the property.